Driving under the influence in Massachusetts is governed by Massachusetts’ General Law Part I Title XIV Chapter 90 section 24(1)(a)(1), which states; Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment.
Put more simply, if you operate a motor vehicle on a public way, while under the influence of intoxicating liquors or other substances and/or have a BAC of .08 or higher, you are in violation of the statute. You will face criminal liability of up to two and half years in jail and/or a fine anywhere from $500.00-$5,000.00.
To read the full statute including additional punishment and repeat offenses, click the link below:
If you have been charged with DUI in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts and need an attorney, we are here to help. Visit our website today.