Scott Bocchio, criminal defense attorney, has defended those arrested in the Salem, MA area for more than 12 years. Our criminal defense lawyers have greater than 25 years overall experience. We know how to protect you in Salem, MA area courts. Whether you’re facing a DUI/OUI or a drug possession-related crime, we defend and represent you. Our attorneys have practical legal expertise in all drug possession-related arrests, we make sure you understand your protections under the law and defend them. Don’t endanger your freedom when being confronted with criminal charges. Call and consult with one of our defense attorneys, we will educate you of your protection under the law and how we will defend them. We will consult with you and talk about your rights, represent and defend you in the courtroom and fight for the minimum viable criminal sentence. We defend our clients to stop all abusive, unfair, or legally questionable tactics. Over our decades of valuable defense law practice, we’ve come to know the law of Massachusetts. Not only are we truly knowledgeable, we are serious about our clients. We go far beyond what’s expected when representing and defending our clients to the best of our abilities. After serving the Salem, MA area for a number of years, we are familiar with the local laws and state laws you may be charged under. We will examine all elements of your charges so that we can pursue a dynamic defense on your behalf. We know how upsetting a criminal charge can be. We will stand with you during this challenge. We’re here to put your nerves at ease.
Looking for a DUI/OUI lawyer near you?
Massachusetts’ DUI/OUI law says; Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment. Operating a motor vehicle on a public road with a BAC of .08 or greater, you can be arrested and charged for DUI/OUI under the law You may face criminal liability of up to two and half years in jail and/or a fine anywhere from $500.00-$5,000.00.
B&E and/or Home Invasion carries significant criminal sentences in Massachusetts. You will need a competent criminal defense lawyer to defend you if you have been arrested or charged for these crimes.
Being charged under the common law crime of Burglary or Breaking and Entering is often prosecuted as a serious felony in Massachusetts. If the property alleged to have been entered is a dwelling, Breaking and Entering is charged as “Home Invasion” carrying a potential maximum penalty of up to 20 years in prison. If you are facing these serious charges, you need a lawyer familiar with defending them. Contact Scott F. Bocchio at (855) 254-7841 to start defending yourself now.
Massachusetts Drug Offenses Criminal Defense Attorney
Massachusetts’ law prohibits an individual from knowingly or intentionally possessing any controlled substance without a valid prescription. Up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine is the penalty for these crimes in Massachusetts. The fines and amount you spend to defend yourself can vary depending on the substance itself and the amount found on your person. To be found guilty of possession, you must:
You must have actual possession of it, meaning on your person or in your control and have knowledge of the substance.
In Massachusetts, marijuana is now legal if you are 21 or older. That being said, it still cannot be consumed in any form in public or on federal land. The possession limit is up to 10 oz in your home, and no more than 1 oz on your person. It is considered illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Note, you can still be criminally charged for possessing more than 1oz of marijuana on your person. Penalties can be up to one year of jail/prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Employers, cities, and landlords may also impose additional rules, regulations, or laws that govern marijuana usage can also apply. Best practice is to thoroughly know the local laws, employer’s rules, and even housing policies that refer to marijuana and its use. You can be charged for heroin crimes, even if you do not possess the heroin. You can face incarceration and fines just for knowing the heroin is present. Heroin possession carries a criminal sentence of up to two years incarceration and a fine up to $2,000. If this is not your first heroin possession conviction, you face longer prison times or higher fines, or both.
Salem, MA Domestic Violence Criminal Defense Lawyer
If you have a domestic relationship with someone and an assault occurs, you can be charged with domestic violence. Prosecutors often prosecute these cases, often despite the wishes of a complaining witness. Your right to own a firearm and your immigration status (if you are not a United States citizen) can be at risk as well as criminal convictions from misdemeanors to felonies. Our firm’s 25 years of criminal defense, including assault and domestic violence, can give you the confidence you need to face these charges confidently.
Facing allegations of armed robbery in Salem, MA?
Massachusetts General Law Part IV Title I Chapter 265 section 17, regarding armed robbery states; Whoever, being armed with a dangerous weapon, assaults another and robs, steals or takes from his person, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. If you wear a mask or distort your face in some way, the penalties are more severe. If certain firearms were used in the robbery, the penalties are even more severe. Chapter 265 section 19(b) of state law defines unarmed robbery by stating; Whoever, not being armed with a dangerous weapon, by force and violence, or by assault and putting in fear, robs, steals, or takes from the person of another, or from his immediate control, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. As an example, stealing a purse from a woman walking is less serious than robbing a convenience store while wearing a mask and threatening store employees with a rifle. Armed or unarmed robbery, both carry severe penalties.