Are you in need of an experienced criminal defense lawyer or attorney near you? For more than 12 years Scott F. Boochio has defended those fighting criminal charges in Topsfield, MA and the surrounding communities. With over 25 years of combined experience throughout our legal team, Your Legal Rights Advocates are the most recognized criminal attorneys in Topsfield, MA. Whether you’re facing a DUI/OUI or a drug related crime, we work for you. Drug Possession and DUI/OUI carry weighty criminal sentences in Massachusetts. We can defend your rights and ensure you are treated equally under the law.If you’ve been arrested for one of these criminal activities, get in touch with our office asap. Our lawyers will speak with you, educate you of your protection under the law, and formulate an effective legal strategy. We stand for our clients against all harmful, unfair, or legally dubious tactics. Over our years of valuable defense law experience, we’ve become very proficient in the law of Massachusetts. Not only are we extremely knowledgeable, we are passionate about our clients. When you are facing criminal charges, potential heavy criminal sentences, and even your loss of liberty, our law firm fights to protect you After practicing law in the Topsfield, MA area for several years, we know the local laws and state laws you may be charged under. We will examine all aspects of your charges so that we can pursue a vigorous defense on your behalf. It will be a challenging time ahead, but we’ll get through it together- one step at a time. We’ll work to see that you attain the best possible outcome.
Arrested for DUI/OUI in Topsfield, MA?
Driving under the influence in Massachusetts is governed by Massachusetts’ General Law Part I Title XIV Chapter 90 section 24(1)(a)(1), which states; Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment. If you are arrested while operating a motor vehicle and have a BAC of .08 or higher, you are in violation of the law. You may face criminal sentences of up to two and half years in jail and/or a fine anywhere from $500.00-$5,000.00.
Searching for a B&E or Home Invasion attorney near you?
Burglary and/or Breaking and Entering crimes are severe offenses in Topsfield, MA. If you’ve been arrested for entering a dwelling, Breaking and Entering is charged as “Home Invasion”, if convicted you could be facing a maximum penalty of up to 20 years in prison. If you are being confronted with these serious charges, you need an attorney experienced with defending them. Contact Scott F. Bocchio at (855) 254-7841 to start defending yourself today.
Drug Possession, Sale, and other Drug Crimes.
Massachusetts’ law prohibits an individual from knowingly or intentionally possessing any controlled substance without a valid prescription. You can face punishment of up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine. Usually fines and the amount spent vary on the substance itself and the amount found on your person. To be found guilty of possession, you must:
You must have actual possession of it, meaning on your person or in your control and have knowledge of the substance.
Also, Marijuana is now legal in Massachusetts for persons age 21 and older. Although legal, you cannot use marijuana on federal lands, or in public. You may have up to 1oz on your person and up to 10oz in your home. It is considered illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of marijuana. Note, you can still be criminally charged for possessing more than 1oz of marijuana on your person. Penalties can be up to one year of jail/prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Employers, cities, and landlords may also impose additional rules, regulations, or laws that govern marijuana usage can also apply. It is best to check these rules when starting a new job, moving into a new living space, or town to make sure you are not in violation of these policies. You do not need to actually possess heroin to be charged with a crime. If convicted for knowing of the heroin’s presence, you can face up to one year of incarceration and up to a fine of $1,000. Heroin possession carries a criminal sentence of up to two years incarceration and a fine up to $2,000. Subsequent offenses carry criminal liability of up to five years of incarceration in the state prison and/or a fine of up to $5000.00 and imprisonment in jail or the house of corrections for up to 2 and a half years.
Domestic Violence Criminal Defense Law Firm Topsfield, MA
If you’ve been arrested for an assault that occurred with someone with which you have a domestic relationship, you can be charged with domestic violence. Prosecutors often prosecute these cases, often despite the wishes of a complaining witness. Your right to own a firearm and your immigration status (if you are not a United States citizen) can be at risk as well as criminal convictions from misdemeanors to felonies. Our law firm is extremely capable of defending you against domestic violence charges.
Armed Robbery Defense
Armed Robbery is governed by Massachusetts General Law Part IV Title I Chapter 265 section 17, which states; Whoever, being armed with a dangerous weapon, assaults another and robs, steals or takes from his person, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. If during the robbery, the assailant dons a mask or anything that causes facial distortion, the penalty is more severe. If certain firearms were used in the robbery, the penalties are even more severe. Chapter 265 section 19(b) of state law defines unarmed robbery by stating; Whoever, not being armed with a dangerous weapon, by force and violence, or by assault and putting in fear, robs, steals, or takes from the person of another, or from his immediate control, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. As an example, stealing a purse from a woman walking is less serious than robbing a convenience store while wearing a mask and threatening store employees with a rifle. Even so, robberies of any type can result in severe criminal sentences if you’re convicted.