For over 12 years, Scott F Bocchio has served as a criminal defense lawyer serving Merrimac, MA and the surrounding areas. Our law firm, Your Legal Rights Advocates, has more than a quarter century of criminal defense law litigation history. Our lawyers can defend you in your Merrimac, MA criminal case. If you have been arrested for Drug Crimes, DUI/OUI, Misdemeanors, and Felonies we can aggressively defend you. Our law firm is skilled in the intricacies of DUI, OUI, and drug possession laws. We understand your rights under Massachusetts criminal law and will endeavor to defend them.If you’ve found yourself in a position where you require legal counsel to represent you in in the courtroom, get in touch with our legal defense team. Our lawyers will speak with you, inform you of your rights, and put together a strong criminal defense plan of action. We are a symbol of our clients to protect against all harmful, unjust, or legally questionable practices. Our attorneys are tried and tested in Massachusetts criminal law. Not only are we incredibly knowledgeable, we are zealous about our clients. We will seek to defend you at every step of the criminal proceedings. A local criminal defense law firm is familiar with the local specific laws that might apply to your criminal case. We’ve litigated in this area and know the Merrimac, MA criminal system You will need an attorney who can establish a sound and leak-proof defense for your situation. We appreciate how aggravating a criminal investigation, arrest, and charges can be. We will be there for you for the duration of this time. We will give you self-assurance knowing we are looking after you.
Looking for a DUI/OUI attorney near you?
Massachusetts’ General Law Part I Title XIV states: Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment. It’s clear that the law says, if you operate a motor vehicle on a public road, while under the influence of intoxicating liquors or other substances and/or have a BAC of .08 or higher, you are in violation of the law. You will face a criminal liability of up to two and half years in jail and/or a fine anywhere from $500.00-$5,000.00.
B&E and/or Home Invasion bears severe criminal sentences in Massachusetts. You need a skilled criminal defense law firm to defend you if you have been arrested or charged for these criminal activities.
Being charged under the common law crime of Burglary or Breaking and Entering is often prosecuted as a serious felony in Massachusetts. If you’ve been arrested for entering a dwelling, Breaking and Entering is charged as “Home Invasion”, if convicted you could be facing a maximum penalty of up to 20 years in prison. If you are arrested for these life altering charges, you need an attorney familiar with defending them. Contact Scott F. Bocchio at (855) 254-7841 to start defending yourself now.
Massachusetts Drug Offenses Criminal Defense Attorney
Individuals knowingly or intentionally possessing any controlled substance without a valid prescription are violating the law in Massachusetts. You can face punishment of up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine. Generally fines and the amount spent vary on the substance itself and the amount found on your person. To be found guilty of possession, you must:
You must possess and be knowledgeable of the heroin.
In Massachusetts, marijuana is now legal if you are 21 or older. However, you cannot use marijuana in any form in public or on federal land. The possession limit is up to 10 oz in your home, and no more than 1 oz on your person. Like alcohol, it is illegal to operate a motor vehicle under the influence of marijuana. But, it is still a criminal offense to possess more than one ounce of marijuana. You can face a criminal sentence of up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine. Employers, cities, and landlords may also impose additional rules, regulations, or laws that govern marijuana usage can also apply. When starting a new job, moving into a new dwelling, or moving locations you should do the research to ensure you are not in violation of any other rules, policies, or laws. If you’ve been stopped and arrested for heroin possession, you can face criminal charges even if you’re not in possession of the heroin. Just knowing heroin is present can lead to a criminal sentence of up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine. Heroin possession carries a criminal sentence of up to two years incarceration and a fine up to $2,000. For repeat offenders, you can face steeper sentences, more years incarcerated and/or steeper fines.
Have you been arrested or charged with domestic violence?
If you have a domestic relationship with someone and an assault occurs, you can be charged with domestic violence. Prosecutors often prosecute these cases, often despite the wishes of a complaining witness. Your right to own a firearm and your immigration status (if you are not a United States citizen) can be at risk as well as criminal convictions from misdemeanors to felonies. Our firm’s 25 years of criminal defense, including assault and domestic violence, can give you the confidence you need to face these charges confidently.
Arrested or Charged with Armed Robbery?
Massachusetts General Law Part IV Title I Chapter 265 section 17, regarding armed robbery states; Whoever, being armed with a dangerous weapon, assaults another and robs, steals or takes from his person, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. If you wear a mask or distort your face in some way, the penalties are more severe. If certain firearms were used in the robbery, the penalties are even more severe. Chapter 265 section 19(b) of state law defines unarmed robbery by stating; Whoever, not being armed with a dangerous weapon, by force and violence, or by assault and putting in fear, robs, steals, or takes from the person of another, or from his immediate control, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. As an example, stealing a purse from a woman walking is less serious than robbing a convenience store while wearing a mask and threatening store employees with a rifle. Armed or unarmed robbery, both carry severe penalties.