Looking for an experienced criminal defense law firm near you? For more than 12 years Scott F. Boochio has defended those arrested for criminal charges in Lawrence, MA and the nearby communities. Our criminal defense lawyers have more than 25 years blended court room experience. We are conveniently located to defend you in Lawrence, MA area courts. If you have been arrested for Drug Crimes, DUI/OUI, Misdemeanors, and Felonies we can defend you. Our lawyers have practical legal knowledge in all drug possession-related cases, ensuring you know your protections under the law and defend them. Don’t take a chance on your future when encountering criminal charges. Call and consult with one of our defense attorneys, we know how to educate you of your rights and how we will aggressively defend them. We recommend you contact one of our legal team members at your earliest opportunity, the sooner you retain us, the sooner we can focus on defending your rights. We are a symbol of our clients to stop all abusive, unjust, or legally dubious practices. As criminal defense lawyers, our group understands Massachusetts criminal laws. We commit our expertise in protecting our clients. You deserve the best defense possible, and we pride ourselves in providing it. We will seek to defend you at every step of the criminal proceedings. We are familiar with the laws you may be charged under if arrested or appearing in court in Lawrence, MA. We will investigate all factors of your arrest and charges so that we can focus on a vigorous defense for you. We will guide you through your criminal case, all throughout the trial process. We’ll act to make sure you get the best possible outcome.
Drunk Driving Criminal Defense Attorney Lawrence, MA
Driving under the influence in Massachusetts is governed by Massachusetts’ General Law Part I Title XIV Chapter 90 section 24(1)(a)(1), which states; Whoever, upon any way or in any place to which the public has a right of access, or upon any way or in any place to which members of the public have access as invitees or licensees, operates a motor vehicle with a percentage, by weight, of alcohol in their blood eight one-hundredths or greater, or while under the influence of intoxicating liquors, or of marijuana, narcotic drugs, depressants or stimulant substances, all as defined in section one of chapter ninety-four C, or the vapors of glue shall be punished by a fine of not less than five hundred nor more than five thousand dollars or by imprisonment for not more than two and one-half years, or both such fine and imprisonment. If you are arrested while operating a motor vehicle and have a BAC of .08 or higher, you are in violation of the law. The penalty you could face if convicted is up to two and half years in jail and/or a fine anywhere from $500.00-$5,000.00.
If you have been stopped and arrested for Breaking & Entering/Home Invasion in or in the vicinity of Lawrence, MA our criminal defense team can help you.
Being arrested, charged, and convicted of the common law crime of Burglary or Breaking and Entering is often prosecuted as a significant felony in Massachusetts. If you’ve been arrested for entering a dwelling, Breaking and Entering is charged as “Home Invasion”, if convicted you could be facing a maximum penalty of up to 20 years in prison. An attorney’s experience and track record are the best answer to such serious charges. Contact Scott F. Bocchio at (855) 254-7841.
Massachusetts Drug Offenses Criminal Defense Attorney at law
Massachusetts’ law prohibits an individual from knowingly or intentionally possessing any controlled substance without a valid prescription. Up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine is the penalty for these crimes in Massachusetts. The fines and amount you spend to defend yourself can vary depending on the substance itself and the amount found on your person. To be found guilty of possession, you must:
You must possess and be knowledgeable of the heroin.
In Massachusetts, marijuana is now legal if you are 21 or older. Although legal, you cannot use marijuana on federal lands, or in public. The limits are; 10oz at your home, 1oz on your person. It is against the law to drive while under the influence of marijuana, like alcohol. Note, you can still be criminally charged for possessing more than 1oz of marijuana on your person. Penalties can be up to one year of jail/prison and/or a fine of up to $1,000. Also, you should research any additional rules or laws imposed by your employer, landlord, city, and/or town regarding marijuana usage. Best practice is to thoroughly know the local laws, employer’s rules, and even housing policies that refer to marijuana and its use. Heroin charges do not require possession. Mere knowledge that the heroin is present is enough to carry a criminal liability of up to one year of incarceration and/or up to a $1000.00 fine. A first offense possession of heroin conviction can result in a criminal sentence of up to two years in the house of corrections and up to a $2000.00 fine. If this is not your first heroin possession conviction, you face longer prison times or higher fines, or both.
Facing Domestic Violence Charges?
If you’ve been arrested for an assault that occurred with someone with which you have a domestic relationship, you can be charged with domestic violence. Even if the alleged victim doesn’t want to file charges, prosecutors often do. From misdemeanor to felony charges, domestic violence convictions carry their own criminal penalties. A conviction can also affect your rights to own or possess a firearm, and if you are not a US citizen, your immigration status can be negatively affected as well. Our law firm is extremely capable of defending you against domestic violence charges.
Criminal Defense of Armed Robbery
Armed Robbery is governed by Massachusetts General Law Part IV Title I Chapter 265 section 17, which states; Whoever, being armed with a dangerous weapon, assaults another and robs, steals or takes from his person, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. If you wear a mask or distort your face in some way, the penalties are more severe. If during the commission of the robbery, the assailant is armed with certain firearms, the punishments are greater still. Massachusetts law Chapter 265 section 19(b) states; Whoever, not being armed with a dangerous weapon, by force and violence, or by assault and putting in fear, robs, steals, or takes from the person of another, or from his immediate control, money or other property which may be the subject of larceny, shall be punished by imprisonment in the state prison for life or for any term of years. Robbing a convenience store while wearing a mask and pointing a shotgun at the cashier (ex. armed robbery) is more serious than snatching a woman’s purse while walking down the street (ex. unarmed robbery). Armed or unarmed robbery, both carry severe penalties.